“Advertising is the art of getting people to buy things they don’t need with money they don’t have”. That statement pre-dates the Internet by a number of decades, yet it is as true today as it was back then. A bit cynical? Perhaps, but let us not forget that in the Internet world people rarely stumble across a website without actively searching for something. If you have what they are looking for, your job is to help them find it.
The problem is most websites are so ill conceived and poorly constructed that they are little more than monuments to their owners.
Let’s make something transparently clear; people do not read on the Internet… they scan! They see headlines, images and bullet points. Depending on the personality type of your visitor, you have between 2 and 8 seconds to convince them to stay on your website and delve deeper into it. They click in… take a quick peak… and click out. Those are the conditions in which business is conducted on the Internet.
A Landing page is where visitors land after clicking on an email link, a search engine result, a banner ad, or manually typing in a specific advertised address. Actually making use of that tidbit of knowledge is a little more complex. It’s easy to fall into the trap of throwing money into driving traffic and living with your conversion rate. Want more customers? Just buy more traffic. Not exactly efficient…or cost effective.
The scenario on the left illustrates that only an increase of 2% in conversion results in 240 additional customers WITHOUT increasing traffic. Depending on the lifetime value of those new customers, that might be a game changer for this particular business.
Read More on landing pages
WSI Consultants have been trained by industry leading firms like Google, Yahoo! and MarketingSherpa to design and test revenue generating landing pages for businesses like yours.
Landing page marketing is an extremely underrated digital marketing tactic. Everybody makes a lot of noise about traffic, and while it's important
to get more eyeballs on your “stuff”, conversion - which is really what landing pages are focused on - doesn’t get enough of the credit.
It’s a simple numbers game. Okay not all numbers games are simple, but this one is easy. Let’s say your website converts one out of every 100 visitors (1/100 = 1% conversion rate). Most businesses focus on increasing traffic to get more conversions, which does work; if you can attract 100 more visitors, you’ll get one more conversion (2/200 = 1% conversion rate). Seems easy enough, but increasing traffic by 100% per day (or even per week) to get just one more conversion is actually hard (and can be a lot of work if you aren’t buying the traffic).
But there’s another way! Instead of worrying about your traffic numbers, why not work with what you’ve got? If you do a little bit of landing page
marketing and improve your design, messaging and calls to action, maybe you can bump your conversion rate up to 3%. That’s just a measly 2%
increase, right? Wrong. A 2% increase actually means better results and more return on your investment. The numbers don’t lie: 3% conversion
rate = 3/100 visitors (3 is more than 2, and it took much less work).
Landing page marketing can make a world of difference, and when combined with other solutions like pay-per-click and display advertising, you can start to make significant strides for your business.
To learn more on landing pages,
- visit our Informative Resources page or
- you can download a whitepaper or
- take the timen and listen to an Expert webinar on Landing Page Design: Common Mistakes & Tested Techniques.
To find out more about how the WSI can work for your business: Give us a call at +357-22675747